...
September 19, 2023

Novel Lives

Book Publicity, Reviews, Author Interviews, and Discussion Posts by Susan Crosby

Five Books To Read If You Loved Early John Grisham

Five Books To Read If You Loved Early John Grisham

You know what I mean. The Client, A Time To Kill, The Pelican Brief etc… When John Grisham was John Grisham (my opinion, of course). This was NOT an easy list to make. In fact, there are some things you should know. Three of them are by the same author, and rightfully so. If you haven’t met Kia Abdullah, you are reading wrong. Secondly, the last one is journalistic based. Trade lawyers for journalists, and bam, bang, boom! You’ve got all the makings of a John Grisham classic. With that in mind, let’s roll it out. Some of these books came out while I was on hiatus, so they weren’t reviewed (Goodreads page linked). For those I did review, I will include a link.

1) The Murder Rule By Dervla McTiernan – Goodreads Summary

How many ways do I love The Murder Rule by Dervla McTiernan? There are too many to count. I didn’t review it, but I did include it in my Best Recently Read Books when I came off hiatus.

 

<Drum Roll> Here comes Kia Abdullah. No one is writing courtroom dramas like Kia Abdullah. NO ONE.

2) Take It Back By Kia Abdullah (Zara Kaleel #1)– Goodreads Summary

I’m just going to keep throwing these books at everyone until you read them. Again, I didn’t review Take It Back but did include it in my Best Recently Read Books post when I came off hiatus.

3) Truth Be Told (Zara Kaleel #2)– Review

Summary Review

Out August 29th, in the States. But already available as an audiobook on Amazon.

Books Read

4) Next of Kin By Kia Abdullah- Goodreads Summary

This is not a part of the Zara Kaleel series but an incredible courtroom drama, just the same.

5) The Trade Off By Sandie Jones- Goodreads Summary

This is the one that if you replace lawyers with journalists? You get the makings of a classic John Grisham Book. I just finished reading The Trade Off. It comes out on August 15th.


That’s my list! Let me know what books I missed (these are all pretty recent, so I’m sure there are tons over the past 20 years). Have you read any on the list?

What did you think?

%d bloggers like this:
Verified by MonsterInsights