...
February 18, 2024

Novel Lives

Book Publicity, Book Reviews, And Author Interviews

Five Reasons Not To Read Windfall By Wendy Corsi Staub

Windfall By Wendy Corsi Staub- Summary

Goodreads Summary Of Windfall By Wendy Corsi Staub (Five Reason Review Below):

In this newest suspense novel from New York Times bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub, three friends’ lives terrifyingly unravel when they win a billion-dollar lottery jackpot—and one goes missing. Perfect for fans of novels like Taylor Adams’ No Exit and The Club by Ellery Lloyd.

It was the girls’ weekend they’d never forget.

J.J., Molly, and Leila had once been inseparable, but it’s been a long time since college, and life—not to mention distance—have disrupted the former roommates’ friendship. When the three reunite for a birthday weekend in Las Vegas, the lottery ticket they buy on a whim has the winning numbers—giving them a billion-dollar windfall. Shell-shocked, they turn to Shea Daniels, a “sudden wealth manager,” who promises to guide them through the pitfalls of having more money than they’d ever imagined.

It was the girls’ weekend they’d live to regret.

The trio travels to a secluded California mansion, where Shea and her staff cater to their every whim, promising to teach them to navigate their newfound wealthy lifestyles with ease. The house is luxurious beyond their wildest dreams—and purportedly cursed, the last place a missing movie star was seen alive. Their weekend turns to terror when they discover they are trapped—roads blocked and communication disrupted by the wildfires raging around them. And when history repeats itself and one of them disappears—the one who’s holding the billion-dollar ticket—the others must face the fact that either their friend has betrayed them…or a predator is lurking.

 

Five Reasons Not To Read Windfall By Wendy Corsi Staub

*Disclaimer: This was my last shot with this author. I didn’t like two of her previous books, and this is the nail in the coffin for me.

  1. Using Mental Illness as a ploy and pot point. I’m not saying that mental illness can’t be a part of books (thriller or otherwise). My most recent read, which I thought was very well done, was The Third Daughter. However, the utilization and execution of serious psychosis triggered by a family tragedy is very stigmatized. This is also true for the utilization of medication and therapy throughout the book.
  2. Don’t be fooled by the summary. There are a multitude of reasons for this, one I will get to next. However, generally speaking?

Windfall

Comparing Windfall to Taylor Adams’ Last Exit (By the way, if you haven’t read his latest book? See the review here– it is phenomenal. And a much better use of your reading time) is like comparing Clue to Knives Out.

3. Speaking of the summary being wrongthis has nothing to do with the lottery. Oh, the lottery is involved, but it is merely a ploy to bring the three friends and their secrets together in a creepy house. That is it. Full stop.

4. Yet another mismarketed book: This is not a thriller. Let me repeat. This is not a thriller. It is literary fiction/women’s fiction with a couple of mysteries thrown in there. The secrets are based on friendships, not the main mystery. And the main mystery is dragged out like a first-period French class.

Review and SUmmaryThank you to Harper Collins Audio and William Morrow for an advanced audio copy of Windfall by Wendy Corsi Staub, which releases on July 11th.

5. The ending: As much as I would love to spoil the ending to save you trouble, I won’t. Suffice it to say, it seriously pissed me off. It was just… wrong.

Bonus Reason: The Podcast Angle: This was so unnecessary and obviously used to fit a certain thriller trend. It was forced and added only added to the ending being utterly wrong.

 

Ok. That is what I’ve got. Could this have been a full review? Maybe. But I’m angry. I spent a whole day with this book. So I wasn’t spending more time writing a whole review. However, I did want to save some pain from reading Windfall.

Verified by MonsterInsights